October 2017 Goal-Setting and the September Follow-Up

I wrote in earnestness last month that I wasn’t sure how to forecast September. I’m glad I didn’t try too hard because September sure walloped me emotionally just about every which way to sideways. I was offered a job; I accepted the job only to have the offer rescinded. I had to hospitalize a kiddo. Then both of my kiddos wanted to leave our home. Then both of our kiddos ran away. September packed a punch. I’m in need of some respite, but I’m not certain how much October can provide. Either way, I had lots of holes in goals this month, never mind the day-to-days I’d expected to manage, didn’t list as goals, and utterly failed to manage. 

September Books to Read:

  • How to Be a Good Mommy When You’re Sick (Skimmed-ish)
  • More Than Honey: The Survival of Bees and the Future of Our World (Halfway)
  • Menaechmi (Can I put a school book on the list?)
  • The Best Place to Work
  • Everything, Everything

 I really enjoyed Everything, Everything as young adult fiction. I loved the character and the sensory descriptions of actually being outside in the world around you, being present and appreciating those details. The narrator certainly reminds me to be grateful for what I have in life and to appreciate those little details. In some ways, I expected the climax of the novel; in other ways, I didn’t. Either way, I enjoyed the book, but I think it makes a better book than an audiobook because listening to the series of email exchanges with all the to/from email addresses and subject headings was a touch on the repetitive side. Word to the wise though: Do not, I repeat, do not watch the movie adaptation. It’s painful.

I ended up only skimming How to Be a Good Mommy When You’re Sick because it wasn’t applicable to my life. The book focused mainly on raising young children, basically babies to early elementary school. Sometimes the author also shot for recommendations that were more of the variety of low hanging fruits. For example, the author recommended Crock-Pot meals as a way to cope. Umm, I’m beyond needing suggestions to use my Crock-Pot.

For my Latin reading, I’m certainly enjoying Plautus even as I’m trying to adjust to his colloquial style of writing and wrap my head around the demands of my graduate class (the daily Latin reading load is quite high). The Menaechmi is the foundational text for Shakespeare’s Comedy of Errors, which I haven’t read (but now would like to). I particularly enjoyed the play and had my first genuine laugh-out-loud-while-reading-Latin moment. As one brother has dedicated his adult life to finding his lost twin, he finally arrives at the town where his twin lives and is being mistaken for his twin brother. He’s being mistaken for him and pestered and finally asked, “don’t you live in that house over there?” He retorts: “May the gods destroy the men who live there.” Except, of course, his long-sought-for brother lives there. Ah, comedic irony!

September Hobby Goals:

  • write three blog posts a week (hahhaha)
  • piece the top of my bee quilt
  • complete the Food in Jars challenge for September
  • complete the chuppah

My writing completely fell apart this month due to the unexpected events. I did, however, piece my bee quilt, and I love it! I can’t wait to quilt it and have it finished! My September Food in Jars challenge was pretty straightforward, especially since I’ve made fruit butters before. Alas, I still don’t know how to finish my chuppah, and I really, really need to get on that.

IMG_20170923_065532609
The bee quilt

September Health Goals:

  • become a better record keeper of the health goals I undertake
  • stand at my sit-stand desk two hours every day (when not having a bad day)
  • take walking or stretch breaks three days a week
  • meditate every day
  • when angry or upset, take a break and do something positive

I’ve been meditating every day for between two and fifteen minutes, so I feel pretty good about that. My Headspace App has been a solid decision for me, even if I’m not always as successful as I’d like about incorporating the to-dos and reminders throughout the day. Still, go me on this front! Especially with the stressful craziness that was September, I feel good about my ability to stick to meditating (and exercising daily).

I had started out a better record keeper and standing at my desk often and getting in more breaks… and then everything fell apart. October is a new month, even if it’s a quarter over. Sometimes we just get started late.

October Books to Read:

  • One of the Boys
  • Before I Fall
  • More Than Honey: The Survival of Bees and the Future of Our World (September Carryover)
  • The Best Place to Work (September Carryover)
  • Ampitruo (graduate school book!)

I should confess that I’ve already read One of the Boys and started Before I Fall. I just get more reading in when I listen to audiobooks, even when life is a touch chaotic. This ability to read more is one of the reasons why I love audiobooks.  

October Hobby Goals:

  • finish the chuppah, for real, like ASAP
  • write three blog posts a week
  • complete the October Food in Jars Mastery Challenge

If I don’t finish the chuppah soon, I won’t be able to submit it to the synagogue for our fundraiser. So, learning how to finish the chuppah is kind of an ASAP top-priority skill. Sure, I can submit it to next year’s silent auction, but I’d hate not to have something for this year’s auction. I’m hoping to learn how to crochet the edges from a colleague at work, and due to the craziness that was September, our schedules haven’t lined up at all. Monday is a new day. I hope. I don’t want to put anything else on the goal list for October even though I have the new fabric for my totally tulips quilt and have more spinning to do. I really want to finish this chuppah!

October Health Goals:

  • become a better record keeper of the health goals I undertake
  • stand at my sit-stand desk two hours every day (when not having a bad day)
  • take walking or stretch breaks three days a week
  • meditate every day
  • when angry or upset, take a break and do something positive
  • make the appointment with my doctor for a follow-up for student disability paperwork

I’m more or less making my October health goals a carbon copy of September. Let’s have a do over! I’ve added making the appointment for my student disability paperwork, which has been a month-long saga. I may finally have identified the right person to submit the paperwork, but we’ll see. Otherwise, I want to reset the clock and make progress on the health goals I’d already started last month. I also desperately need to get my stress eating back under control… 

I’m flabbergasted that it’s October 8th. The last three weeks have really been a black hole from which little has escaped. Amid the chaos of everything that’s happened, I don’t remember where all the time has gone. What I do remember, though, is that amid all the chaos, I have better friends that I could ever hope to deserve. I’m inordinately grateful to their support and encouragement. I hope that I support them as well as they support me.

Leave a Reply

