Apple Ginger Butter: The Food in Jars September Mastery Challenge

Last year, I made spiced peach butter, and it was absolutely delicious. I feel as if I’ve been hoarding it in my cupboard, afraid to open it. The next-to-last time I had opened a jar, one of my foster kiddos basically drank it, and I didn’t get any of it. So, I’ve been a little wary of opening one of the few remaining delectable jars until I had the time and opportunity to make something equally tempting to replace them. In that vein, I had been looking forward to this month’s Food in Jars mastery challenge because I was hoping to make pumpkin butter, which seemed a delicious way to welcome autumn.

Alas, I learned that apparently pumpkin butter can only be stored in the refrigerator or processed in facilities of gargantuan proportions. With Rosh Hashanah this week, my fridge will be pretty well bursting at the seams. Instead, I saw the recipe for apple ginger butter, recalled my recent overzealous buying of ginger, felt guilty that it was languishing in the pantry, and opted to make this butter instead. Besides, apples are in season and a staple of the Rosh Hashanah dinner.

IMG_20170916_150612535

Making the apple ginger butter was a breeze, especially since I purchased the apple peeler/corer contraption last year. Still, I must confess: this butter doesn’t really feel like a “butter” to me. Perhaps, I feel this way because I am so fond of the spiced peach butter I made. Instead, this butter feels, looks, and tastes like applesauce to me. Delicious, mind you, but applesauce nonetheless. I’m not sure whether I did something a little off in the directions. Perhaps I should’ve pureed the apples longer with my immersion blender. I’m not sure. Either way, I absolutely agree with Marisa, the blogger at Food in Jars, that this butter’s highest calling is to be dolloped and smeared all over latkes this Chanukah. I can definitely hoard them until then.

In the meantime, I have quite a hankering for spiced peach butter.

IMG_20170918_065321537

3 thoughts on “Apple Ginger Butter: The Food in Jars September Mastery Challenge

Leave a Reply

