Roasted Garlic Jelly, with a side of Herbes de Provence

The Food in Jars Mastery Challenge is well under way, and I finished out the month by making a batch of roasted garlic jelly and Herbes de Provence wine jelly on my day off on Wednesday. I desperately needed the time to myself to be crafty and do my own thing, and I wanted to add just a few more jellies to my mastery challenge. I already made the sour cherry jelly and lavender wine jelly earlier this month for the challenge.

IMG_20170329_102955507
Straining the roasted garlic

When I was perusing my canning book, the recipe for roasted garlic jelly intrigued me. My husband wanted me to try a few savory jellies, but I haven’t been able to wrap my head around when and where I’d use them. We don’t eat a lot of meat, so marinades in this house are mostly for tofu. Roasted garlic jelly was a savory jelly I could wrap my head around in a house where freshly baked artisan bread is available every day.

I wasn’t sure that I would make the roasted garlic jelly. The book suggested that I use white balsamic vinegar for a clearer and less cloudy jelly but cautioned that it could be difficult to find. When I found a jar of it in the grocery store, I decided it was kismet, and I’m glad that I did. The roasted garlic jelly was certainly different, combining sweetness with one of my favorite tastes:  garlic. I will definitely use the jelly on toast, especially when dinner that night is soup!

The Herbes de Provence wine jelly is a variation of the lavender wine jelly, and the taste was just as sophisticated. The results were just as discordant too. Just as before, some of the jelly jars have firm sets, but one of them was clearly more liquidy. What gives? I have no idea, so if you have suggestions, please share away!

I managed to make both batches of jelly Wednesday morning, and I’d say it was a morning well spent.

Leave a Reply

