Month Old Tweenager Chickens

The baby chickens are coming along nicely, simultaneously endearing and aggravating. Sometimes, I forget how loud they are as they chirp, squawk, and now baby-crow away in the background, but I definitely remembered this week. I worked from home and had to Skype in for an interview with a graduate student for our team. I needed to mute my microphone for the interview and then unmute each time I wanted to ask a question. Who knew baby chickens could be so distracting? Well, at least she knows what kind of supervisor I’ll be:  the sort who raises baby chickens.

Since the baby chickens are a month old now, I thought it was time to see how much they’ve grown! And grown they have! I ordered an ornamental layer collection from Murray McMurray Hatchery to split with a friend, and it’s been fun trying to determine which chickens I ended up with. I feel mostly good about having identified the different breeds of chickens, but I think I have a surprise chicken breed stowaway. I can’t believe that they’re already a month old!

Still a White Laced Red Cornish. She’s skittish. She also very clearly modeled why I took all my photos on tile this go around. She’ll be staying with me.

This Dark Brahma does not like to be handled. She’s the slowest of all my chickens to feather out. She’s staying with us, unless she turns out to be a rooster… which might bother the husband since she’s his favorite.

The Buff Orpingtons are doing great! One of them likes cuddles a little more than the other, but they’re both pretty nice birds. My coworker has been by a couple of times to see them.

I wasn’t sure what she was originally, but I’m pretty certain now that she’s a Phoenix. She didn’t photograph well (she’s very skittish); she’s headed to my friend’s house in the country.

The Lakenvelders look nice together as a little flock. The rooster on the far left is already beginning to crow, or, well attempting to crow anyway. All four of these are heading to my friend; they like to free range.

My Silver Grey Dorking already looks rather matronly as her legs are much shorter than the other chickens. I’m biased toward this breed as a breed I would like to raise permanently due to their Roman connections, and she’s proving to be a decent bird, even if she’s not particularly keen on cuddles.

The Buff Cochins are developing their feathered pantaloons. Of all the breeds, they’re most likely to give a little trill and shrug their wing feathers like I’d dropped a bucket of cold water down their backs when I pet them. They don’t necessarily run away, but their reactions are hysterical. I think all of these are headed to the farm, but I may try to keep one.

The White Faced Black Spanish are both inquisitive and very sweet. One of them is going to end up a pet chicken because I’m stupid fond of her. She’s the one in the background; the foreground chicken (dubbed “Pirate Chicken”) is heading to the farm. I’m happy to send at least one very friendly chicken… to make up for the skittish ones.

Last but not least, my box of “are these all the same?” chickens. Initially, I could only tell my Dorking apart because she had five toes. I thought that the remaining four were Modern BB Red Game chickens. The four have been separated into different kennels (although they’re also all going to the farm), so this was the first time I had all four side-by-side in awhile. Notice the hen in the middle? She’s looking to the right just behind the rooster in the front. Her neck feathers were all grey, and the other chickens had feathers that were much more goldeny red in color. She might be a Silver Leghorn. Who knew?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Month Old Tweenager Chickens

Leave a Reply

